Latest News

‘Distilled Live’ – new album out now!

Posted: November 19th, 2012

Just over a year after the Cinematic Orchestra guitarist Stuart McCallum released his acclaimed Naim debut album of ambient jazz-electronica, the Mancunian’s distinctive and ethereal guitar playing headlines this new long player ‘Distilled Live’; captured live during the 40-date European tour that succeeded the release of his studio album ‘Distilled’.

‘Distilled Live’ opens with a new treat for studio album lovers. “What Is Beauty?” samples the soothing intonation of Indian philosopher Krisnamurti, whose teachings have deeply inspired McCallum’s music and outlook, resting upon a cradle of strings, driving bass and soaring modes from McCallum’s deft guitar playing. Although, in a contrasting running order to the original studio album, ‘Distilled Live’ features all the same high points including the minimal melodic groove of “dR Doctor”, the soaring momentum of “Inflight”, Part I and Part II of “Hillcrest” combined into one epic enactment and two exclusive as-yet-unheard compositions ‘The Wait’ and aptly titled closer ‘And Finally…’ available on the compact disc album.


  1. What is Beauty?
  2. dR Doctor
  3. Lament For Levenshulme
  4. Inflight
  5. Vital Space
  6. Hillcrest
  7. La Cigale
  8. Distilled
  9. The Wait            (cd bonus track)
  10. And, Finally…             (cd bonus track)

9.                Seasons (iTunes bonus track)    

10.             Inhale (iTunes bonus track)

Read All Entries »